2015-16 Season Concerts

(all at 7:30 pm)
For Directions to Concert Sites, click here.

Thursday, October 1:  Lisa Naef Terry, viola da gamba, and Joanne Kong, harpsichord, offer a lecture-concert of J. S. Bach's three sonatas for viola da gamba and harpsichord.  St. James Episcopal Church.  Admission $20.

Thursday, October 15: , Barry Hause, guitar, and John Paul, harpsichord, present a program featuring music of 17th century composer John Dowland, and 18th century masters Luigi Boccherini and J. S. Bach.  St. Andrew’s Episcopal Cathedral. Admission $20.

Saturday, November 7:   Heinavanker returns with a program of medieval chants and runic songs, mixed with some contemporary music in a similar style. Their music has been mesmerizing to our audiences in the past, and promises to do so again. St. James Episcopal Church.  Admission; $25

Monday, November 16:  Max Emanuel Cenčić, countertenor, appears with Il Pomo d'Oro orchestra in a program of 17th and 18th century Venetian opera.  Woodworth Chapel, Tougaloo College.  Admission $30.

Tuesday, February 9:  Vox Luminis, a choral ensemble from Belgium, presents a concert entitled "150 Years of Choral Masterpieces" from the Bach family, culminating with J. S. Bach. The group has won major awards for their recordings, including Gramophone magazine's baroque choral and best classical disc awards for 2012.  At St. Philip's Episcopal Church. Admission $30.

Thursday, April 21: Cellist Taylis Fernandez and Pianist John Paul offer a new program of Beethoven sonatas for piano and cello.  St. Andrew’s Episcopal Cathedral. Admission $20.

Season Tickets: $125.  All student tickets $5.

Tickets can be obtained at the concert of by sending a check to the address below at least five days prior to the concert.

For more information contact Richard McGinnis at 601-594-5584, info@ancientmusic.org, or
Mississippi Academy of Ancient Music
103 Magnolia Street
Edwards, MS 39066

We are very grateful to the Mississippi Arts Commission, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the  Community Foundation of Greater Jackson for their support this year!